maceThe College operates under policies established by the State Board for Community Colleges and a Local College Board. The institution is financed primarily by State funds supplemented by contributions from the participating localities.

Local Board Members

Buchanan County

Ms. Peggy Lowe
Ms. Pauline Casey
Ms. Amanda Matney

Dickenson County

Mrs. Judy Compton, Treasurer

Russell County

Dr. Gregory Brown, Chair
Mr. Randall Hillman, Vice Chair
Mr. Lynn Keene, Liaison-Educational Foundation Board

Tazewell County

Dr. Tom Conley
Mr. Erik Robinson
Mr. Bruce Harold Russell, Sr.


Southwest Virginia Community College, a part of the Virginia vccs_logo_largeCommunity College System, is approved by the State Board for Community Colleges and by the Virginia Community College System. The associate degree curricula of the College have also been approved by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.

Southwest Virginia Community College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, to award the associate degree. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, telephone number 404.679.4500 or at for questions about the accreditation of Southwest Virginia Community College.

See the Council for Higher Education Database of Accredited Institutions for the listing for this institution.

Service Region

For College and Regional Data you can visit our Institutional Research website at