Student Scholarship Golf Classic

Golf Classic – Student Scholarship Event

The SWCC Golf Classic is held each year in September. This event, supported by the SWCC Community, provides thousands of dollars in funding for scholarships for SWCC students.

This year’s tournament, to be held on Thursday, September 28th at 1:00 P.M. at Tazewell County Country Club, is the 26th Anniversary of this popular event that began as a celebration of SWCC’s 25th anniversary in 1992.  It is also a celebration of SWCC’s 50th Anniversary. For more information contact Mary Lawson at or (276)964.7348 or fax (276)964.7531.

26th Annual Golf Classic in Honor of Diana Queen

diana queenThe 2017 SWCC Scholarship Golf Classic is played in honor of Diana Queen. Diana has generously and willingly given her time to organize the popular Green-O for the golf tournament since the beginning. This allows an additional opportunity to raise scholarship funds. She acknowledges important support from husband Curt and Brenda Justus and Consolidated Steel.

Diana and her family have been residents of Tazewell County for over 40 years! She has one son, Kelly Curtis Queen (and wife, Amy); four grandchildren: Patrick Logan Joyce, Gray McClellan Queen, Addy-Lane Queen and Emery Caroline Queen, all of whom she is very proud!! And, for over 16 years, has been Owner/Agent of Queen & Company Travel, Richlands, Virginia.
Thank you, Diana, for this valuable service and in helping make the SWCC Scholarship Golf Classic a success for many years.

Tournament Information

Thursday, September 28, 2017

1:00 p.m.
Shotgun Start
Tazewell County Country Club

Entry Fee: $150 per person
Includes “trash”: one “druther”; one red tee (women golfers receive an additional “druther”); entries for two $100 cash prizes and a GRAND PRIZE handcrafted clock by Steven Olinger, Instructor in Machining and CNC Technology Program @ SWCC

Proceeds will go to the Student Scholarship Golf Classic Fund for deserving students

Play will be two-person team (Men’s, Women’s and Mixed) Captains Choice using lower of the two handicaps to determine flight. Each team member must use a minimum of six drives per round.

Hole-In-One Prize - Hole #3 - 2017 Jeep Renegade 4X4 - Ramey's
Cash Prizes for:

  • Closest-to-the-Hole on Par 3, 8, 11
  • Longest Drive on Number 18 (men)
  • Longest Drive on Number 2 (women)
  • Most Accurate Drive on Number 4
  • Green-O
  • Special “new” event and prize on #9
  • Closest to the Hole, second shot
  • Great prizes for hole-in-one’s on other par 3’s

First and Second Place winners in each of six flights

  • Tournament Logo Cap, towel and golf ball
  • SWCC 50th Anniversary Golf Polo Shirt

Please indicate shirt size on registration form

Door prizes and other special drawings
Snacks and drinks provided during play
Reception and Dinner
Awards Ceremony

Previous Winners
1997: Charles Green and Cameron Forrester
1998: Louis Ballenberger and Jim Jones
1999: Jim Huffman and Jim McVey
2000: Eric Hungate and Keith Hungate
2001: Eric Hungate and Adam Parnell
2002: Mike Fircetz and Gary Sergent
2003: Joe McCall and Billy McCall
2004: Rick Compton and Jack Compton
2005: Jim McVey and Andy Simmons
2006: Patty Forbes and Chris Dye
2007: Larry Mullins and Bill Lester
2008: Kenny Richardson and Dan Harris
2009: Larry Turner and Jerry Jenkins
2010: Stephen Crigger and Don Lowe
2011: George Cheynet and Stephen Crigger
2012: Stephen Crigger and Don Lowe
2013: Stephen Crigger and Don Lowe
2014: Craig Herald and Dan Harris
2015: Dan Harris and Bob Taylor
2016: Taylor Lindsey and Budge Hunter
2017: And the winner is .………………..