Main Nav

Campus Clubs & Organizations

2018 Campus Clubs & Organizations

Get involved!

flying eagles sports

Campus Crusade for Christ
Serves as a place for Christian growth and fellowship. Meetings are held once per month with free lunch, live music, and relative dynamic speakers.

Advisor
April Quesenberry
Office Number
Buchanan Hall room 104
Office Phone Number
276.964.7336
Advisor Email
april.quesenberry@sw.edu

Epsilon Pi Tau
The leading international honor society for technology. It recognizes academic excellence of students in fields devoted to the study of technology and the preparation of practitioners for the technology professions.

Advisor
Janet Rowell
Office Number
Davis Hall room 232
Office Phone Number
276.964.7213
Advisor Email
janet.rowell@sw.edu
The Game Room Club
To provide, host, and encourage community events revolved around gaming (card games, board games, video games, etc.), and to promote social and community involvement in events and gatherings pertaining to gaming.

Advisor
Jacob Richardson
Office Number
Buchanan Hall room 165
Office Phone Number
276.964.7763
Advisor Email
jacob.richardson@sw.edu
Helping Minds Club
To improve people’s lives, foster awareness of human service needs via student involvement, and to support students’ involvement and professional development.

Advisor
April Hess
Office Number
Russell Hall room 134
Office Phone Number
276.964.7209
Advisor Email
april.hess@sw.edu
Intervoice Club
Non-denominational focus on fellowship, worship, and prayer to support each other, the campus, and community through annual religious retreats and mission/service projects on and off campus.

Advisor
April Hess
Office Number
Russell Hall room 134
Office Phone Number
276.964.7209
Advisor Email
april.hess@sw.edu
Lambda Alpha Epsilon
To improve criminal justice through educational activities, fostering professionalism in law enforcement personnel, agencies, academics, and public awareness of criminal justice issues. Membership is contingent upon enrollment in a criminal justice program of study.

Advisor
Jerry Stinson
Office Number
Tazewell Hall room 215
Office Phone Number
276.964.7203
Advisor Email
jerry.stinson@sw.edu
Latent Image Club
To advance the science of radiographic technology and promote high standards of education and training for radiography students. Membership is contingent upon enrollment in Radiography and good academic standing.

Advisor
Donna Corns
Christy Lee
Office Number
Russell Hall room 120
Russell Hall room 119
Office Phone Number
276.964.7642
276.964.7341
Advisor Email
donna.corns@sw.edu
christy.lee@sw.edu
Music Club
Allows students to explore different genres of music while exposing them to diverse cultural experiences.

 

Advisor
Dr. Joseph Trivette
Laura Mallory
Office Number
King Community Center room 177
King Community Center room 171
Office Phone Number
276.964.7381
276.964.7629
Advisor Email
joseph.trivette@sw.edu
laura.mallory@sw.edu

Phi Theta Kappa
To provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for the exchange of ideas, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence. Membership by invitation only.
Advisor
Kimberly Austin
Dr. Brian Wright
Office Number
Russell Hall room 132
Russell Hall room 140
Office Phone Number
276.964.7362
276.964.7207
Advisor Email
kimberly.austin@sw.edu
brian.wright@sw.edu
Practical Nursing Club
To bring together students who are pursuing a career path of practical nursing. Focus is geared toward promoting unity and teamwork through monetary gifts of kindness and volunteer work for children and geriatric populations and other health related organizations.
Advisor
Linda Gambill
Melissa Ray
Office Number
Russell Hall room 110
Russell Hall room 108
Office Phone Number
276.964.7507
276.964.7360
Advisor Email
linda.gambill@sw.edu
melissa.ray@sw.edu
Project Achieve
A federally-funded program by the Department of Education that works with first-generation, low income, and students with disabilities. Offers assistance in overcoming educational and social barriers they might face such as tutoring, counseling, and transfer services, as well as educational/cultural activities on and off campus.
Advisor
Dr. Susie Mullins
Office Number
Buchanan Hall room 158
Office Phone Number
276.964.7231
Advisor Email
susie.mullins@sw.edu
Red Cross Club
To provide students the opportunity to become part of one of the largest humanitarian organizations in the world, with an opportunity to make a positive impact on campus and in the community while developing skills in leadership, organization, and lifesaving skills.
Advisor
Jennifer Roark
Angel Bryant
Office Number
Buchanan Hall room 160 & 159
Office Phone Number
276.964.7653
276.964.7542
Advisor Email
jennifer.roark@sw.edu
angel.bryant@sw.edu
Registered Nursing Club
To empower future nurses through educational experiences and community service opportunities. To build strong relationships among peers and through community service in preparation for their nursing career. Membership is contingent on enrollment in the Registered Nursing program and good academic standing.
Advisor
Neyia Beavers
Diana Cantrell
Office Number
Russell Hall room 204
Russell Hall room 201
Office Phone Number
276.964.7659
276.964.7539
Advisor Email
neyia.beavers@sw.edu
diana.cantrell@sw.edu
Student Government Association (SGA)
SGA serves as the student body’s voice at SWCC. Comprised of 15 senators, to qualify you must be enrolled as a full-time student, continue to be full time if elected, and maintain a 2.0GPA while in office.
Advisor
Jacob Richardson
Lisa Haywood
Office Number
Buchanan Hall 165
Buchanan Hall room 163
Office Phone Number
276.964.7763 & 276.964.7220
Advisor Email
jacob.richardson@sw.edu
lisa.haywood@sw.edu
Student Occupational Therapy Assistant Club
To promote Occupational Therapy as a health profession, sponsor student activities, and provide community service. Membership is contingent upon enrollment in the OTA program and good academic standing.
Advisor
Annette Looney
Office Number
Grundy Booth Center room 312
Office Phone Number
276.964.7643
Advisor Email
annette.looney@sw.edu
Southwest Adventure Team (Outdoor Club)
A school-sponsored, student-led group dedicated to having fun in the great outdoors (such as mountain biking, kayaking, etc.)

Advisor
Michael Brown
James Dye
Office Number
Davis Hall room 240
Davis Hall room 227
Office Phone Number
276.964.7703
276.964.7278
Advisor Email
michael.brown@sw.edu
james.dye@sw.edu
Student Veterans' Assocation
To engage the administration, faculty, staff, and local veterans’ support services to improved the educational experience for all SWCC student veterans and their families.

Advisor
Gwendalyn Slone
Denise Miller
Martha Strouth
Office Number
Buchanan Hall room 140
Buchanan Hall room 142
Buchanan Hall room 141
Office Phone Number
276.964.7363
276.964.7557
276.964.7593
Advisor Email
gwendalyn.slone@sw.edu
denise.miller@sw.edu
martha.strouth@sw.edu

Still can’t find what you’re looking for? You can start a club of your own! All you need is a SWCC faculty or staff advisor and a minimum of 10 students to get started. Stop by the Admissions office today in Tazewell Hall room 112 and pick up an application for a new club.

Continue Reading