SWCC Educational Foundation, Inc.

Welcome to the SWCC Educational Foundation, Inc.

The Southwest Virginia Community College Educational Foundation was founded in 1981 as a means of seeking needed funding for the college and students.  The Foundation’s purpose is to support the mission of the college and to help meet the needs of and provide opportunities for students, faculty and staff.  The Foundation is a non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors representative of community leaders.

Since 1981, the Foundation’s assets have grown significantly, which has enabled the Foundation to provide thousands of financial scholarships to deserving students from the college’s service region of Buchanan, Dickenson (partial), Russell and Tazewell Counties.  Gifts of cash, securities, bequests and trusts, equipment and services have been provided by individuals, families, foundations and service organizations.

The SWCC Community Center is the result of the $7.5 million Fulfill the Vision campaign funded by the private sector, and numerous gifts have been provided expressly for faculty and staff professional development, instructional equipment, cultural programming, endowed faculty chairs, and special events for students and the community.

All gifts to the Foundation are tax deductible within the guidelines of the Internal Revenue Service.

SWCC Educational Foundation, Inc.

Board of Directors


James Boyd (Tazewell County)

Wayne Bostic (Russell County)

Scott Butcher (Tazewell/Buchanan Counties)

Fran Minton (Buchanan County)

Tom Mullins (Buchanan County)

David Mullins (Russell County)

Marco Warner (Tazewell County)

Dr. Tommy Wright (Russell County)

Foundation Contact Information

Susan Lowe
Vice President of Institutional Advancement
Educational Foundation Executive Director
Director of Scholarships & Major Gifts Campaigns

Tazewell Hall, Room T-317
Phone: 276.964.7304

Annette McClanahan
Educational Foundation Office
Business Manager

Tazewell Hall, Room T-317
Phone: 276.964.7347
Fax: 276.964.7531