top

Tuition & Fees

Tuition and related costs are set by the State Board for Community Colleges and are subject to change.

Effective FALL 2013

Status Rate/credit hour with fees

Virginia Resident

$131.50

Out-of-State Resident

$326.10
Out-of-State/Contract $209.50
30 Mile Radius $149.50
See Tuition Chart (pdf)

 

Applicants are required to complete a Domicile Determination form to determine state residency eligibility for tuition purposes.. This form is included with the online Admission Application or may be downloaded from the Forms page.

Tuition and Fee Explanation

Student Comprehensive Fee

A comprehensive fee will be charged at the rate of $1.50 per credit hour for credit classes and for non-credit courses. The purpose of the comprehensive fee revenue is to provide support for College student government activities and events and parking auxiliary. Fifty percent ($0.75) of the revenue generated shall be earmarked for student activities and events, and 50% ($0.75) shall be budgeted for the parking auxiliary fund.

The College President may waive the comprehensive fee for special classes designed for business and industry and for any other justifiable special circumstance.

Technology Fee

A technology fee will be charged at the rate of $7.50 per credit hour that will be used to finance major improvements in information technology at the College.

Special 30 Mile Radius Rate

Residents of Pike County, Kentucky, and residents of Mercer, Mingo, and McDowell Counties in West Virginia will be assessed the Virginia 30 mile radius rate of tuition if they are eligible to pay in-state tuition rates at state supported institutions in their respective states.

Although individuals enrolled from these counties are classified as out-of-state students, because of special Virginia Legislation, these individuals are eligible to pay the 30 mile radius tuition rate. In addition to the comprehensive fee ($1.50) and the technology fee ($7.50), a $18.00 capital fee per credit hour will be added

Dishonored Check Fee

The College will assess a $35.00 service charge for checks returned for any reason.

Waived Tuition

The Code of Virginia, Section 23-7.1, provides that free tuition and required fees to state-supported institutions shall be granted to children of deceased or permanently disabled veterans of the armed forces of the United States provided disability or death was the result of service-related injury. Also, children of prisoners of war or individuals missing in action are eligible for tuition waiver.

 Students who are eligible for the tuition waiver under this law must provide documentation from the State Division of War Veterans Claims to the Veterans Affairs Office

Tuition and required fees are also waived for children of law enforcement officers,firefighters, and rescue squad members killed in the line of duty.

Waived Tuition for Students in Certain Dual Enrollment Courses

Tuition shall be charged at in-state rates for any high school or magnet school student not otherwise qualified for in-state tuition, pursuant to Section 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia, who is enrolled in courses specifically designed as part of the high school or magnet school curriculum in a community college for which he/she may, upon successful completion, receive high school and community college credit pursuant to a dual enrollment agreement between the high school or magnet school and the community college.

Senior Citizens’ Tuition and Fees Waiver

Under provisions of the Virginia Senior Citizens Higher Education Act, a person who is sixty years of age with legal domicile in Virginia for one year before the beginning of a semester may enroll in a state institution of higher learning at no cost (tuition and required fees) provided all tuition-paying students are given firstpriority for class spaces. Senior citizens who have completed 75% or more of their degree requirements may be allowed to enroll in courses at the same time as tuition-paying students. If the senior citizen had a federal taxable income of not more than $15,000 in the preceding year, the individual may take a course for academic credit without paying tuition. If the person’s taxable income exceeded $15,000, the individual may only audit the course for free. All audits must be approved by the appropriate division dean. A senior citizen, regardless of income level, may take a noncredit course at no charge.

No limit is placed on the number of semesters in which a senior citizen may register for tuition-free courses. The law places no restriction on the number of courses that may be taken for credit in any semester. Credit courses, audit of credit courses or noncredit courses cannot exceed three courses per semester.

To apply for waiver of tuition and fees, senior citizens must be admitted to the college and complete waiver forms each semester in which classes are taken. Waivers must be approved by the Director of Admissions and Counseling and forms are available in the Admissions Office

Other Fees, Charges, and Fines

Continued enrollment at the College is dependent upon proper settlement of all debts owed the Institution. Should the student fail to satisfy all due and payable amounts for tuition and fees, college loans, college fines,or other debts owed the College, he or she may be suspended and will not be allowed to register in any succeeding semester until all current debts owed to the College have been satisfied

A student who damages or loses school property (laboratory or shop equipment, library materials, etc.) must pay charges for such losses. In addition, a student must pay finesfor improper parking, or other such infractions as determined by the College administration with the approval of the Virginia Community College System

Transcripts, certificates, or degrees will not be issued, nor will a student be permitted to register, until all the student’s accounts have been paid in full.

Support SWCC